The Olympics and Channel 9

I have never been one to jump at the opportunity to participate in sport. This is because I hate how people act towards sport (and most importantly because it involves physical activity). So it shouldn’t come as a surprise I wasn’t excited for this years Olympics and the media that would come with it. 

In the brief moments I have seen events broadcast to Australia, it has made me cringe. Channel 9 and its reporters are those douche bags in phys ed that make sport seem like a life or death situation. The fact that these people want to avoid high calorie foods and dedicate years (years of exercising that is) to make an Olympic team is a feat in itself. To overhear reporters use such words as “disappointing” and “devastated” about these athletes bewilders me. Being one of the most skilled people in the world at their favoured sporting activity is disappointing? 

Maybe it’s because I was the kid that pretended to be sick to avoid sport and on the few occasions I did participate, shied away from engaging, that I feel sympathy towards the athletes. Maybe I just feel sorry for them for not getting take-out for years to have a “disappointing” outcome. 

I’m only just seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. Big Brother returning after this bore-fest of fit people is over next Monday.

Image

About itsamaddoworld

Hello World. My names Matt, alternatively known as Maddo. Being the diverse person I am my blogging topics will range from factory farmed animals to Britney Spears, my love for ice-magic and equal rights. I'll talk about the irrelevant and the relevant, which may not make sense to some, but it's a maddo world after all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

